Phoenix to Tuba City, 267 Miles

Moenkopi Inn, Tuba City, Arizona

Moenkopi Inn, Tuba City, Arizona

That’s 267 miles from our house. Sam has put together an itinerary worthy of professional tour guides for us to follow as he says, “spontaneously.” On Day 1 we left the house at 9:15 a.m. and arrived in the Navajo Nation at 4:30 after two spontaneous stops, lunch at Subway, one missed exit, and one gas fill-up.

Arizona really does have a beautiful variety of landscapes. The whole of the western United States really is still incredible to me though I’ve lived here my whole live long life. But quickly, back to the planned trip because the tour guide is soon going to be tapping his feet as it is already morning of Day 2 and I have just decided to do this documentation of his good work.

Spontaneous Stop #1 / Montezuma’s Castle

Montezuma's Castle that overlooks Verde Valley

Montezuma’s Castle that overlooks Verde Valley

This was carved out of the mountainside in Verde Valley around 1200 AD. The have barred walking up to it, but as you can see, the penthouse view would have been spectacular.

Spontaneous Stop #2 / Sunset Crater

Sunset Crater:MeThey had trailside signs describing the moonlike landscape here with a few trees poking through.

Navajo Nation Moenkopi Inn / The hotel was lovely with every accommodation, except LIQUOR IS NOT ALLOWED IN THEIR NATION AND THEY MAKE YOU SIGN THAT YOU UNDERSTAND THAT.

Denny's Restaurant in Tuba City.

Denny’s Restaurant in Tuba City.

Dinner was at Denny’s. The only restaurant in town except for a Sonic Drive-In.

This entry was posted in Colorado Road Trip, Eating is for Everyone, Grief's Blossoms of the Lower Branches, The Street View and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Phoenix to Tuba City, 267 Miles

  1. Been over that route a number of times, and always enjoy it. –Curt

  2. The openness of the west is astounding, sometimes overwhelming, and to me, comforting. What do you enjoy about it, Curt?

  3. Smaktakula says:

    This is really cool. I love reports from exotic places (and I’m using the word exotic to mean “not like where I live”), because, while I like to travel, I don’t get to do it as much as I’d like, particularly now that I have young kids.

    Having said that, I checked out Tuba City on a map. I think the closest I’ve been to that place was about 100 miles, when I was in Valley City, North Dakota.

    You might reply, “Tuba City isn’t anywhere NEAR there.”

    I disagree. Valley City is pretty much nowhere, and according to the map, Tuba City is about 100 miles from nowhere.

    Looks like you had fun!

    • That’s exactly right! You’ve got it! The west is a hundred miles from nowhere where ever you are. It’s sundown time now and so beautiful everyone should have tears in their eyes. I know kids slow you down. Our big trip was Vernal Utah to see dinosaurs (however it’s spelled) and another year Moab, Utah which has fun for adults and alike (unusual for Utah). Thanks for following my little trip.

Leave a Reply

