Boursin Cheese Almost — A Last Minute Holiday Treat

BoursinIf I were prone to generous sharing and actually helpful hints, I would have shared this easy, far less expensive than the grocery store variety recipe earlier. But I’m not, so here it is now:

Two 8 ounce packages cream cheese
8 ounces butter
1/2 teaspoon each of oregano, thyme, dill weed, garlic salt and marjoram
Salt and pepper to taste

Soften cream cheese and butter. Mix all ingredients well in food processor. Better if flavors allowed to mix for a few hours.

I make half the recipe and usually play with the herbs because I figure it’s me

The recipe is from my son's high school fundraiser book. I have three recipes in it, Mexican Rice, Asparagus in Raspberry Vinaigrette, and Shrimpy Rice Salad.

The recipe is from my son’s high school fundraiser book. I have three recipes in it, Mexican Rice, Asparagus in Raspberry Vinaigrette, and Shrimpy Rice Salad.

who has to be happy. The original recipe says it freezes well, but I’ve never tried that.

I need to go now and bake myself to a happy Christmas death. Between Peppermint Bark that was made two days ago and the Greens, Orange, Pomegranate Seed, Purple Seedless Grape and Maybe Lemon Peel Salad that will be made before Christmas Dinner for five (whose combination of people have never shared a meal together), there is much to create, conjure, and cook. I’m looking forward to the preparing and giving part of it, and I also know a bit of the giving will be that I won’t cook again for days.

This entry was posted in Eating is for Everyone and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Boursin Cheese Almost — A Last Minute Holiday Treat

  1. My, my. Busy. Busy. Have a wonderful Christmas, Rebecca.
    I’ve saved a copy of this recipe. Will possibly use New Years. Can’t wait to get into the kitchen tomorrow as well. We’re having an open house. :-)

  2. Yes, busy, busy and all self-imposed. Thanks for dropping by as you do and making comments. I appreciate it. Have a wonderful open house.

  3. Let’s see… eight ounces of butter and eight ounces of cream cheese– hard to get much more sinful than that. :) Enjoy and have a great Xmas feast. Then don’t cook for a week, Rebecca. –Curt

  4. Thanks Curt. That’s exactly what I’m doing. I hope your holidays are exactly what you want.

  5. merrildsmith says:

    I used to make this–or something similar–years ago. Thanks for the reminder. I hope you enjoyed your goodies!

Leave a Reply

