Utah to Arizona for a Next Life #1

A “before” picture of my mountain yard. How it looked twelve years ago.

“Why am I doing this for someone else’s benefit?” The charge could have come from demon, Irma Prattle, but I can tell the difference and this wasn’t an Irma screed. I was up on my backyard mountain to clip the iris plants that have finished blooming and do some general clean-up and weeding. I was bent over, head to the iris plants and mountain, back end in the air waving over the house’s roof to the Salt Lake Valley. Twelve inch clippers I’ve let get a bit rusty were snapping off the fanned leaves and tall stalks, some of them already with a seed pod at the top. That’s why I clip them. I’ve read that if they are cleanly snipped at the base after blooming they don’t have to spend energy keeping leaves pretty and their rhizomes will spread faster to cover an area.

How my mountain yard looks now. You can see the retaining wall where the switchback first goes.

It seems to be working. What was a half dozen or so has turned into over thirty blooms in three, maybe four years.

“Why am I doing this for someone else’s benefit?” Sam and I are soon putting the house on the market to sell and we’re moving to Arizona. Arizona! So now everyday I try to do SOMETHING that prepares for the move. So much to get rid of, fix, or pack. Yesterday it was clip the iris and clean the mountain which was counterbalanced by a trip to Costco for a four pack of toilet bowl cleaner, toilet paper, a giant jar of vitamins, and a couple of bags of chips. We’re not moving tomorrow. Probably after Halloween. So why did I clip the iris? Because I want

At the top of the switchback this is the view of the Salt Lake Valley that I enjoy very much when I go up there.

to leave my home that I have loved since 1996 in good shape and ready to be loved by the next owner.

I’ve started saying good-bye to this house because I know it is time, but when it finally is that day, I want both it and me to feel good about it. And yes, I think somehow houses have an energy of thought that needs nurturing and respect to make it a happy home. I’m doing it because I want to leave it a happy home.

This entry was posted in Utah to Arizona for a Next Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

