Betty Crocker’s Cheese Souffle

Betty Crocker’s Souffle

Isn’t this just a pretty little thing? It tasted good, too. Light, cheesy, special. When I bring this out of the oven I always feel a long moment of pride that once again I have helped eggs dance in a chiffon gown (okay, that’s corny but I like it) and done well by an old Betty Crocker recipe. The guilty secret is I’m not world’s biggest egg fan, so I have only made this when I’ve had an abundance of eggs, haven’t felt too hungry or “in the mood” for something else, and I wanted that long moment of pride. Last week a friend, Cynthia, gave me a dozen eggs, so I had an abundance I was happy to have.

It’s one of the first recipes I tried after getting married decades ago, and it was one of my first successes. Another reason to enjoy that long moment. Betty Crocker made it easy, though I’ve added my amateur suggestions.

1 cup thick white sauce, 1/4 tsp. dry mustard (I use 1/2 tsp.), dash of cayenne pepper (or dashes), 1 cup (1/4 lb) shredded sharp cheese, (Pack it down, get it in there!), 3 egg yolks, well beaten (Eggs work best when brought to room temperature ahead of time.), 3 egg whites 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar (Another rare reason to use it!), hot water for water bath

*Heat oven to 350 degrees and put water on to boil. When it boils turn off heat and let it sit in kettle keeping warm.

*Prepare thick white sauce (1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup flour, salt, pepper, 1 cup milk. I’m thinking you know the drill.)

*Turn off heat. Add mustard, cayenne and cheese to hot white sauce.

*Whisk egg yolks and slowly drizzle about 1/3 of the cheese sauce into eggs until eggs have accepted temperature, been whisked completely and then return to the cheese sauce.

*Beat egg whites (clean beaters are essential) and cream of tartar until stiff.

*Fold into cheese sauce with a spatula.

*Pour into ungreased 1 1/2 qt baking dish. For better definition of the “High Hat” with the spatula make groove 1” from edge.

*Pour still quite hot water into baking dish and set souffle in middle.

*Bake 50 to 60 minutes until puffed and golden. Serve immediately to appreciative audience even if you need to ask them to be appreciative.

This is best served with a sauce. Some I’ve used are mushroom, bacon and mushroom, tomato, a Chinese brown sauce with shrimp, green pepper, and onions, whatever sounds good and is in the refrigerator. Perhaps a maple and ginger would work. Leftover marinara or meatball sauce. Bread and a fresh green salad or fruit have finished the menu.

This entry was posted in Eating is for Everyone, Not the Grocery List and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Betty Crocker’s Cheese Souffle

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    Good old dependable Betty. You can always trust her recipes to turn out.

  2. I have an ancient Betty Crocker cookbook my mom used in the 40s or 50s

    • It’s a good standard for the basics. Mine finally started falling apart. Maybe I should have kept it together with elastic bands, but I clipped my favorites. It was like leaving elementary school with fond memories and knowing lots more than I did when I was five.

  3. I’m jonesin so hard for cheese. I think that’s the one thing I miss the most. Vegan cheese, even when it’s good, doesn’t measure up to the real thing. You made my mouth water!!! I have that same cookbook lol, first my mom’s old one, and then I bought a new (old) one so I could keep hers from any further disintegration.

  4. Those good basic cookbooks never go out of style. Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

