Good-bye Trayvon Martin and Hoodie Photo

HoodieIt’s time to change my photo signature. The Trayvon Martin trial is over and George Zimmerman was found innocent. When public anger was most vehement shortly after the death and before Zimmerman was charged, I had the photo taken as part of a small protest of the right to wear hoodies. They were never my fashion statement and unless it’s raining, they are decades too young in style for me.

I don’t agree with the verdict, but I understand the jurors may have needed to follow their instructions. My view is the moment guns are introduced into neighborhood watch programs the chances of similar tragedies rises tenfold. At that point police wannabes hide their frustrated desires under the cloak of doing good while they play at being sheriff. Zimmerman stepped over the line when he followed Martin against the advice of the police.

The story is continuing and I don’t know what will happen to Zimmerman or how this event changed or didn’t change him. That is now his story and it is the story of Martin’s family and friends to deal with their grief for the rest of their lives.

I am returning that small part of my interest in their lives to mine. That return to one’s own life is not always a small decision. In this case, for me, it is a small and easy decision though reading the news articles and watching television reports were reminders of a tragedy that belongs to all of us who believe we are somehow all connected as one.

I do grieve for Trayvon Martin and his family. It is a small tearless grief, a reminder of my own, but it is enough to feel it as a live thing moving through my heart. Hopefully, if my belief in the physics of God has any truth, it will flow to them as a faint, healing ray. I also grieve for Zimmerman. I understand foolishness and fear. I’ve felt both squeezing, constricting, belittling-of-the-soul emotions.

RG 8-12The new photo was taken last August and I don’t think I’ve changed too much.

This entry was posted in Grief's Blossoms of the Lower Branches, The Street View and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Good-bye Trayvon Martin and Hoodie Photo

  1. Kylie Addison Sabra says:

    It was a sweet-hearted protest. You are right. Time to move forward.

  2. Carrie Rubin says:

    Well said. Throughout this whole tragedy, I kept thinking, “if only Zimmerman hadn’t followed Trayvon; if only he’d taken the advice of the police, then Trayvon would still be here.” So tragic.

    Your new pic is lovely, by the way!

  3. Bumba says:

    What do we wear to protest the police treatment of Zimmerman: releasing him and not charging him, which was the greatest outrage of the tragedy? How did we forget this most salient violation?

  4. empolitic says:

    I loved learning about the motivation behind your hoodie photo. Kudos to you!

  5. Once again, the message seems to me that we are justified in killing people who may think differently, or look differently than we do. Good work on your articles. –Curt

  6. I think that message is there. It’s also reflected in the numbers and demographics of our prison system. I don’t understand why this country that seldom fights its battles on its own land is so afraid. Thanks for the mention.

  7. Somehow I missed why the hoodie photo. Time to move forward or we’ll be poisoned with frustration.

    • I understand why you missed the reason of the hoodie matching with Trayvon since I didn’t bother to do good reporting, but you know, repeating it all just felt too heavy an effort. Seventeen year old Trayvon was wearing a hoodie when he was confronted by Zimmerman. That’s a fashion choice by a lot of young people, but it originated in the poorer neighborhoods which makes it suspect. Somehow the connection was made that Trayvon looked more dangerous because he wore a hoodie at the time of the shooting so it somehow exonerated Zimmerman. Public outrage before Zimmerman was charged was shown by people wearing hoodies and posting photos in social media as support for Trayvon. Most who did it used the photo one day to a few months, but I waited for the end of the trial. Long answer. Sorry.

      • Sorry, I knew that. I was talking about how I hadn’t been aware YOU posted the picture in the hoodie, in SUPPORT of Trayvon. I admire you.

        Nice of you to do. See, a hoodie doesn’t make me a XXX!

  8. I don’t know the answer to the question regarding the “right” to carry. I do know that gunshots are forever and death from gunshots is forever. It seems that fact needs to be given more weight in how we answer that question.

  9. I don’t know about the “right” either, but this is a country that believes in it.

  10. Daniela says:

    Those lines you wrote: ‘the moment guns are introduced into neighborhood watch programs the chances of similar tragedies rises tenfold. At that point police wannabes hide their frustrated desires under the cloak of doing good while they play at being sheriff.’ are one of the most balanced I have read in regards to this whole tragic saga.

    All the Best,
    Daniela

Leave a Reply

