Volunteering at the Library

Volunteering has been part of my life since I was in my twenties. Where, how, and why have changed through the years, but today I am driving to the closest local library to put in a little time and see if I want to continue. At the Volunteer Orientation they were enthusiastic about any and all four of us who showed up.

There's not much to see in the garage, but it seems an official place to start.

There’s not much to see in the garage, but it seems an official place to start.

Today was my second go-round. Tell me what you think. First I back out of the driveway and leave my community as it is called here.

I turn left and head due

The road out of my community.

The road out of my community.

north. It is a four lane highway that is posted fifty miles an hour. Everyone travels over sixty. I would have taken a photo but there is not a shoulder on the road and I’m not great at multi-tasking. Nine miles later I turn right and head east for a distance that I could walk, but on a hundred degree day I would rather not.

Now I am heading east and am pulled over on the shoulder.

Now I am heading east and am pulled over on the shoulder.

Then I again head north and go under a freeway overpass. The left arrow is Phoenix, the right Globe.

Once passed it I am on town streets. This is an intersection on Idaho Road and Superstition Road.

Freeway underpass.

Freeway underpass.

Over twelve miles from the garage door I am at the library parking lot. More cars are parked behind me but I want to show you the vastness.

This is the now blooming desert in front of the library. The long yellow stalk is a flowering yucca.

Idaho and Superstition.

Idaho and Superstition.

I knock on a locked door that says Library Personnel Only and a woman lets me in. She guides me to the returned children’s backpacks and shows me how to repack them. I was handed an industrial size box

The parking lot is not as deserted as it looks.

The parking lot is not as deserted as it looks.

of wipes and told to clean every surface. Then I was shown how to securely lock them so nothing is stolen by lurking library opportunists. The backpacks are quite clever with each mesh backpack put

The library garden.

The library garden.

together like a theme party. This one is about numbers and math.

Another had sea creatures I got to play with to make sure they worked.

I wiped them all down and re-inserted them in perfect order.

I wiped them all down and re-inserted them in perfect order.

The teddy bear in the Teddy Bear Pack had a note on the inventory sheet that the nail polish on the paw was noted.

Finished with that little task I was led to the video display and told to alphabetize any out of order and

This kit looked fun.

This kit looked fun.

replace returned ones. There were hundreds with many people coming and going. Videos are very popular at the library.

An hour and a half

Teddy with nail polish belongs with several bear books.

Teddy with nail polish belongs with several bear books.

had passed at this time so I strolled through the used book store and picked these up to bring home.

Once in my car I spotted this beautiful Saguaro on the grounds and faced the three flowering pale verde trees at the stop sign before leaving.

A few of the Ws.

A few of the Ws.

The Library Saguaro.

The Library Saguaro.

Three blooming Palo Verde trees.

Three blooming Palo Verde trees.

My purchased books.

My purchased books.

This entry was posted in The Street View and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Volunteering at the Library

  1. Thanks for giving your time your local library! I’m sure the kids who get to take home those backpacks really appreciate it.

  2. Thanks for the encouraging words. Libraries are very important and they overall have done a magnificent job in changing with the new technology.

  3. Amy says:

    That is a wonderful thing to do! Thank you so much!

  4. Thanks Amy. I enjoyed it and it’s always interesting to see what goes on behind the scenes.

  5. Peggy volunteers at our local library and loves it. She always did want to work in a book store and now she works at the library’s used book store. There are always a few Baldacci’s for sale.:) –Curt

  6. Me too! When I tried to volunteer at a popular local bookstore they were soooo popular that they charge $25 to volunteer! Baldacci sounds like a good read and I’ve got to read him, but he’s really my husband’s choice.

  7. Carrie Rubin says:

    Wonderful of you to volunteer at your library, but talk about a rather desolate drive! But actually, it’s starkness is lovely. A hundred degree heat? We just had a snowfall this morning. Needless to say I’m not thrilled…

  8. The DC says:

    What an awesome way to spend one’s time,we love libraries in this house 🙂

    The DC

  9. Dilip says:

    Beautifully written you made it so interesting! Volunteering your services for the common good is such a lovely thing to do! Thank you and regards.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

