Italy Amalfi Coast

After a two+ weeks vacation in Italy there is everything to say. It is beautiful. Historical. Fun. None of the words I can think of at the moment will bring it alive as it deserves. We were with 22 other people on a tour where we had an excellent guide, interesting local guides, our own bus driver, I didn’t have to cook, everything was new and wonderful and all I had to do was enjoy. I am currently feeling the withdrawal I did after a first luxury cruise.  I’m going to skip trying to sound poetic and get to the pictures.

Three mornings we woke up to this view outside our window. Then we went upstairs to have chocolate croissants, espresso, and a whole table of wonderful food.
Three mornings we woke up to this view outside our window. Then we went upstairs to have chocolate croissants, espresso, and a whole table of wonderful food.

After a tour of a centuries old paper making factory we rested at a restaurant and took this photo of Ravello's plaza.

After a tour of a centuries old paper making factory we rested at a restaurant and took this photo of Ravello’s plaza.

Where was this photo taken? I'm not sure except that it was along the Amalfi Coast in one of the small towns.

Where was this photo taken? I’m not sure except that it was along the Amalfi Coast in one of the small towns.

A view from the bus.

A view from the bus.

A side trip was to Montecassino Abbey on a hilltop.

A side trip was to Montecassino Abbey on a hilltop.

St. Benedicto XIII founded the Abbey about 529 and it took until World War II when it was destroyed and is now rebuilt.

St. Benedicto XIII founded the Abbey about 529 and it took until World War II when it was destroyed and is now rebuilt.

Benedicto's sister is St. Scholastica. Her feast day is February 10.

Benedicto’s sister is St. Scholastica. Her feast day is February 10.

Tile floors in Italy are always an art. Astounding when I first saw it, Italy has so much more this one fell to average.

Tile floors in Italy are always an art. Astounding when I first saw it, Italy has so much more this one fell to average.

Then there were the ceilings. I wish my camera could show better detail.

Then there were the ceilings. I wish my camera could show better detail.

It's always interesting how much mythical and earlier symbols are incorporated.

It’s always interesting how much mythical and earlier symbols are incorporated.

Enough of architecture. See what fine stitching this is in a time before precise machines. I've read many went blind working on fine fabrics for the rich--wait! That's probably happening today, too.

Enough of architecture. See what fine stitching this is in a time before precise machines. I’ve read many went blind working on fine fabrics for the rich–wait! That’s probably happening today, too. I was not into the picture taking mode yet since I was a bit off center because it took three days into the tour before our luggage arrived. Ah, well, a small glitch and it really didn’t get in the way of a wonderful time and the beginning of meeting an eclectic, intelligent, fun group of fellow travelers.

This entry was posted in Italy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Italy Amalfi Coast

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    Italy is such a beautiful country. I’m sure you had a wonderful time. Thanks for sharing some of your pictures. We can live vicariously through you. 🙂

  2. You are generous to say that. Vacation photos can be a bit much, but here I go in a few posts to come.

  3. I love to hear about travel and experiences that go with them. I have a thing for Italy but can’t decide which part I want to visit first. Love the pictures. Keep them coming… This sounds exciting. Will there be any wine tasting on this trip? shopping? 🙂

  4. You are trip teller extraordinaire, but I will give a few good memories. You can’t go wrong choosing any part of Italy and I also learned you must acknowledge from the beginning you won’t see everything of importance. Wine tasting? Once it was even led at a winery people who knew what they were talking about and shopping….well, marathon isn’t too modest a term!

  5. Peggy and I truly enjoyed out time in Italy two years ago, and how could we not with cities like Florence, Rome, Venice and Naples to explore. Glad you enjoyed your trip. –Curt

  6. Sounds like a fun trip. Bulky for you! The photos are great, especially the ceiling.

  7. VisitSiena says:

    great photos 🙂 !!

  8. Well, thanks. Amateur photos seldom portray what the eye sees and what is remembered in emotion.

  9. Smaktakula says:

    What an awesome opportunity. I love to travel, but now that I have small children, I’m forced to do all my travelling through vicarious instances like these. Love the photos!

  10. Yes, having a son slowed me down, too. Also so did limited funds at the time. It’s actually a little miracle how much money reappears after those little knee huggers leave home.

  11. Sue Slaght says:

    We were in Positano in September and the scenery truly is jaw dropping isn’t it? I think you did very well with your photography.

  12. Yes, it is jaw dropping especially with the architecture and how it has lasted through time. Though it was not an easy place for bikers or pedestrians who would like to walk between towns.

  13. Amy says:

    Wow, Amalfi! Beautiful beyond words… Love these photos and the tour!

  14. Thanks, it was a remember forever vacation.

  15. tchistorygal says:

    What a wonderful time! I went with friends as our guides. they had been stationed in Italy for three years, and had learned the language. She prepared us well by telling us to read some books, and then we went to Florence, Venice, and Rome. It was amazing. I’m so glad you had a chance to enjoy Italy. 🙂

  16. How wonderful to have a knowledgeable personal guide. Italy is truly a top destination that even if a person doesn’t really like certain things, they are bound to learn and understand world history a little better.

  17. tokyomike55 says:

    Nice. I lived in Italy over a year and it was one of the best experiences in my life. Constantly surrounded by beautiful art, architecture, and scenery 🙂 Great post!

  18. What a wonderful experience. I so admire people who can move across the globe.

Leave a comment